Mosquitos

I really don’t like them. I don’t see any use in them. And they have kept me awake for the last week.

I’ve easily killed about 20 of the little bugger by bashing them against walls with the flick of a towel, but every time I think I’ve killed them all (or killed enough to scare the others away), I turn off the light, try to go to sleep and then….

bbbzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

It is driving me nuts. It’s not only the sound that is bothering me, but the annoyance at the fact that I have on fewer than 8 mosquito bites on my face, and one as fresh as last night. These bites are itchy and they are making my already broken out for no good reason skin look worse than I’d like.

I’ve tried sleeping with my head under the blankets, but I can never seem to pull it off. It gets to a point where I can’t breath well, and that keeps me awake. The other night I killed a couple who landed on the hood I pulled over my head by slapping myself in the skull – but I sensibly washed that hoodie and it is not yet dry.

They have been attacking Chad, too, but the thing is – once he decides to fall asleep, he’s out like a light. I can’t seem to pull that one off, and instead, I’m bundled up in bed with my laptop, determined to write about this nuisance, and research a plan of attack.

Mosquito

My inspection of the Wikipedia article on this matter confirms that these things are just plain bastards.

“The cycle repeats itself until the female dies. While females can live longer than a month in captivity, most do not live longer than one to two weeks in nature. Their lifespans depend on temperature, humidity, and their ability to successfully obtain a blood meal while avoiding host defenses and predators.”

I suppose I just have to keep killing them and hope I squish the female before she lays any eggs. Gross.

“Many methods are used for mosquito control. Depending on the situation, the most important usually include:

  • source reduction (e.g., removing stagnant water
  • biocontrol (e.g. importing natural predators such as dragonflies)
  • trapping, and/or insecticides to kill larvae or adults
  • exclusion (mosquito nets and window screening)”

We don’t have any stagnant water in the house, besides in the toilet and in closed water bottles. I have no idea where we would get dragonflies, and although they would be a prettier infestation, I don’t know if the landlady would approve. I’m good with killing the adults, and if I knew what the larvae looked like and found any, they’d be done for as well. Most of these windows have screens, and we don’t open the ones that don’t.

“Plants can also repel mosquitoes, such as citronella, catnip, marigolds, ageratum and horsemint to name a few.”

You can bet your bottom dollar that if I find any of these plants, I’m grabbing one. And wiping a leaf all over my face so those jerks stop eating it.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

