Happy 2013

When I am in Europe around this time of year, I delight in doing exactly this:

Dear Friends and Family back in Canada (and in the UK, for that matter),

I am now in a completely different year than you. Take it from me: 2013 is filled with optimism, challenges and excellent times either spent with you, or thinking of you. Many exciting milestones will happen, many tests of strength will occur, but I am confident that it is going to be an excellent year.

Personally, I hope to overcome personal obstacles, relearn my potential and renew some confidence in myself that has whittled away so slowly over the years that I didn’t know it was leaving me. I’m not saying it is going to be easy, but I know that if I don’t give up, it is going to be worth it. I hope each and every one of you has personal goals that will make 2013 a personal triumph.

I was feeling down because my particular goals aren’t easy to measure on a day-to-day basis, and after losing yet another game of Chess (I have never won a game, to my recollection), I felt defeated. Surely, if I am as intelligent as I am supposed to be, I could win just one, right? My ever awesome best friend pointed out that she has been playing Chess with her Dad since she was 8 and has never won a game (and I know she is smart). She said, “I have a theory that it’s not a game for everyone, doesn’t matter how smart someone is”. I have to remember that I cannot be excellent at everything, especially not right off the bat. So I’m going to keep trying (and apologies to Chad when my competitive self gets angry and weepy in the future – I’m going to work on that, too), because just because I don’t excel, doesn’t mean I should give up completely.

Happy New Year 2013!

Love,
Kathy

(P.S. Friends in New Zealand, Australia and one not-so-wee brother-in-common-law Kyrgyzstan, 2013 holds excellent times either with you in person or in memory, as well.)

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

